This Years Testing Of The Best Wood Pellets 2017

  • Default
  • Title
  • Date
  • Random
load more hold SHIFT key to load all load all

banner 2

mobile250

Best Pellets 2017-2018 So Far!

Bear Mountain Wood Pellets

Rate this item
(142 votes)

Bear Mountain Premium "Plus" Wood Pellets

Bear Mountain Premium Plus Wood Fuel Pellets contain significantly less moisture than the industry standard resulting in heating your home faster and hotter. We take the time to dry our pellets like no one else which means you get more fuel in every bag and you use less of that fuel to burn away excess moisture. Instead you use the fuel you purchased to heat your home, not dry your pellets.

Bear Mountain Premium Plus Wood Fuel Pellets are made exclusively from Douglas Fir with a hint of Western Red Cedar. We tightly pack our pellets only with these high-energy species, which gives you more heat. Review the full description below for more details on how the low moisture content and species of wood will give you the best pellet for heating your home with minimal cleanup. At the same time, heating with wood pellets will keep your carbon footprint as small as possible, which means great things for our environment.

 

Moisture Content:

2.136%

Ash Content:

0.15%

Heating Value - As Received:

8527 Btu/lb

Heating Value – Moisture Free:

8713 Btu/lb

Bear Mountain is same as our Goldenfire brand except we can mix up to 5% Western Red Cedar with the Douglas fir. We cannot detect a difference in testing other than a very slight increase in ash and an equally slight increase in heating value.

We are willing to go head to head with any pellet produced using independent lab tests or stove tests.
DSCN22601

Try Supporting My Advertisers

Additional Info

  • Admin Review: Oct 2014: Bear Mountain wood pellets are one of the best. Good old Douglas Fir pellets. These pellets put out fantastic heat and very little ash. Hands down a great choice for heating your house all year long. I'm sure that these have a very strong brand loyalty with it's burners.
    Nov:2017 - So these pellets are awesome! done! but............... they are not like the ones they sent me a few years past. I'm not sure if the reason is because Lignetics bought them out but.... Anyway, these are a west coast doug fir pellet and are great! low ash and high heat! I hope they keep up the great quality they had before because the bag I received are not like they used to be.

Leave A Review

Please include the model of your stove in your review of these pellets.

16 comments

  • Comment Link Dee Sunday, 16 December 2012 22:03 posted by Dee

    We installed a Harman Accentra-2 Pellet Stove 5 years ago and have only burned Bear Mountain Pellets. I didnt realize how really good they are until a neighbor borrowed a few bags. They went on and on about the heat production and the lack of ash production. Needless to say we have not been tempted to burn any of the cheaper pellets.

    Report
  • Comment Link Travis Sunday, 01 January 2012 17:34 posted by Travis

    I have purchased several brands this year and found the bear mt pellets to work best in my napoleon npi45 they seem to burn hot and very clean. Also were priced @ 219.00 per ton which was good for quality pellets the clean burn also are good but 250 per ton 4.5 out 5 for a rating

    Report
  • Comment Link Richard Salmon Wednesday, 07 December 2011 19:44 posted by Richard Salmon

    I have a Lopi Pioneer model pellet stove.
    If i attempt to run the stove above the medium setting the fire pot becomes choked and starts overflowing. I have had this occur as much as three times a day.
    Bear Mountiain premium pellets can only burn at a medium setting in my stove. There appears to be too much cedar causing clinkers to form rather quickly in my fire pot.

    Report
  • Comment Link Laura Crandall Monday, 17 October 2011 17:09 posted by Laura Crandall

    I switched to Bear Mountain from Clean Burn pellets a couple of years ago. I had purchased a ton of Clean Burn on a plan where I could pick up 5 bags at a time. The supplier ran out of Clean Burn and substituted Bear Mountain for 5 bags. I noticed less ash and fewer clinkers right away. With the Clean Burn, I had to check for clinkers every few days, with the Bear Mountain, I didn't have any clinkers with those 5 bags. I now order Bear Mountain because I find that they are worth the slightly higher cost.

    I have an Enviro Mini.

    Report
  • Comment Link Denny Martin Sunday, 17 April 2011 11:33 posted by Denny Martin

    From a dealer's standpoint, we have carried Bear Mountain, along with several other brands over the years and found them to be the "bulletproof" brand. If we detect a customer is the least bit finicky we immediately direct him/her to Bear Mountain as is has always had the best track record for least complaints - most praise. In our store Bear Mountain is a little more expensive, but only because we bring it in from farther away than other brands, so shipping costs apply. Besides that, it is competitively priced.

    Report
  • Comment Link Loueee Sunday, 07 March 2010 21:01 posted by Loueee

    These are the best of three types of pellets I've used. There is signifinactly less ash, less smoke, and the glass stays cleaner.

    Report

Best Wood Pellets 2017-18

  • La Crete Wood Pellets

    La Crete Wood Pellets

    La Read More
  • Northern Warmth Supreme Douglas Fir

    Northern Warmth Supreme Douglas Fir

    Expensive Read More
  • Somerset Wood Pellets

    Somerset Wood Pellets

    Somerset Read More
  • Northern Warmth Purely Pine

    Northern Warmth Purely Pine

    Super Read More
  • North Idaho Energy Logs Pellets

    North Idaho Energy Logs Pellets

    North Read More
  • American Wood Fibers Hardwood

    American Wood Fibers Hardwood

    AWF Read More
  • Logik-e Softwood Pellets

    Logik-e Softwood Pellets

    Logik-ê Read More
  • Maine Woods Softwood Pellet

    Maine Woods Softwood Pellet

    A Read More
  • EasyBlaze Wood Pellets

    EasyBlaze Wood Pellets

    2 Read More
  • Hamer's Hot Ones

    Hamer's Hot Ones

    Hamer's Read More
  • Golden Fire Wood Pellets

    Golden Fire Wood Pellets

    Golden Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11

Latest Pellet Reviews

  • Timber Heat Pellets

    Timber Heat Pellets

    I cannot find any info online about these pellets. Read More
  • Energy Pellets of America Wood Pellets

    Energy Pellets of America Wood Pellets

    Energy Pellets of America manufactures premium wood pellet fuel for Read More
  • America's Best Wood Pellets

    America's Best Wood Pellets

    America's Best Wood Pellets Made from premium Douglas Fir. America's Best Read More
  • North American Pellets

    North American Pellets

    Available at Home Depot and Lowes ,  Produced by Curran Renewable Read More
  • Home Depot Wood Pellets

    Home Depot Wood Pellets

    Pellets at Home Depot  Here is the list of wood Read More
  • Carriage House Wood Pellets

    Carriage House Wood Pellets

    I'm looking for any info or reviews.  email me pics Read More
  • Corinth Wood Pellets

    Corinth Wood Pellets

    Corinth Wood Pellets LLC manufactures premium hardwood pellet fuel from Read More
  • Cubex Wood Pellets

    Cubex Wood Pellets

    Cubex Wood Pellet fuel pellets  Cubex Wood Pellets with a Read More
  • Elite Wood Pellets

    Elite Wood Pellets

    Extraordinary Premium Hardwood Pellets from Canada! 100% Hardwood made by Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

Latest News & Posts

  • Great tool for Harman pellet stove cleaning

    Great tool for Harman pellet stove cleaning

    Great Tool For Cleaning Your Harman Burnpot Of Carbon So Read More
  • WoodPellets.com Just Delivered

    WoodPellets.com Just Delivered

    If live in New England and looking for a super Read More
  • Best Ash Vac For Your Pellet Stove

    Best Ash Vac For Your Pellet Stove

    If you keep your stove clean then maybe you won't Read More
  • Is There a Difference Between Hardwood and Softwood Wood Pellets?

    Is There a Difference Between Hardwood and Softwood Wood Pellets?

    Are softwood pellets better than hardwood Pellets? Understanding the properties Read More
  • South Shore Wood Pellets of MA

    South Shore Wood Pellets of MA

    South Shore Heating Pellets is the NEW South Shore Wood Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Newest Pellets

  • Energy Pellets of America Wood Pellets

    Energy Pellets of America Wood Pellets

    Energy Pellets of America manufactures premium wood pellet fuel for Read More
  • Carriage House Wood Pellets

    Carriage House Wood Pellets

    I'm looking for any info or reviews.  email me pics Read More
  • Home Depot Wood Pellets

    Home Depot Wood Pellets

    Pellets at Home Depot  Here is the list of wood Read More
  • Corinth Softwood Blend

    Corinth Softwood Blend

    GradeSuper Premium Material Softwood Blend Ash Less than .6% Fines Read More
  • Corinth Hardwood Blend ( red bag)

    Corinth Hardwood Blend ( red bag)

    Corinth Hardwood Blend ( red bag) Grade Premium Material Hardwood Blend Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5